STATE OF ILLINOISMedical Marijuana Regulations

Qualified Medical Patients

  • Access to Cannabis for qualified Medical Patients

Illinois residents 21 years of age or older who are also qualified medical patients under the Compassionate Use of Medical Cannabis Pilot Program Act are allowed to cultivate up to 5 plants for personal use under state law Starting on January 1, 2020. Cannabis cultivation must take place in an enclosed, locked space (secure from unauthorized access) and not stored or placed in a location where they are subject to ordinary public view. Additionally, an owner or lessor of residential property may prohibit the cultivation of cannabis by a lessee. In this Section, “resident” means a person who has been domiciled in the State of Illinois for a period of 30 days before cultivation.

“Enclosed, locked space” may include a space within a residential building that is the primary residence of the individual cultivating 5 or fewer cannabis plants that are more than 5 inches tall in a space that includes sleeping quarters and indoor plumbing. The enclosed space must only be accessible by a key or code that is different from any key or code that can be used to access the residential building from the exterior; or a structure, such as a shed or greenhouse, that lies on the same plot of land as a residential building that includes sleeping quarters and indoor plumbing and is used as a primary residence by the person cultivating 5 or fewer cannabis plants that are more than 5 inches tall, such as a shed or greenhouse. The structure must remain locked when it is unoccupied by people.

Adult registered qualifying patients may purchase cannabis seeds from a dispensary for the purpose of home cultivation. Seeds may not be given or sold to any other person.

Cannabis plants shall not be stored or placed in a location where they are subject to ordinary public view. A registered qualifying patient who cultivates cannabis under this Section shall take reasonable precautions to ensure the plants are secure from unauthorized access, including unauthorized access by a person under 21 years of age.

Cannabis cultivation may occur only on residential property lawfully in possession of the cultivator or with the consent of the person in lawful possession of the property. An owner or lessor of residential property may prohibit the cultivation of cannabis by a lessee.

unit, enclosed, locked space, or piece of property not divided into multiple dwelling units shall not contain more than 5 plants at any one time.

Cannabis plants may only be tended by registered qualifying patients who reside at the residence, or their authorized agent attending to the residence for brief periods, such as when the qualifying patient is temporarily away from the residence.

A registered qualifying patient who cultivates more than the allowable number of cannabis plants, or who sells or gives away cannabis plants, cannabis, or cannabis-infused products produced under this Section, is liable for penalties as provided by law, including the Cannabis Control Act, in addition to loss of home cultivation privileges as established by rule.
  • Disclaimer:

While we try to keep this page as up to date as possible, the information provided on this page is strictly to be used as an educational resource and is not legal advice. Before starting your journey, always make sure that you are aware of your local laws. Please always adhere to  your local city / State laws.

Recreational Users

  • For recreational users 

If you are not currently registered as a qualified medical patient with the State of Illinois you are not allowed to grow your own at this time. Growing no more than 5 plants for personal use not in accordance with this act will be subject to a civil violation, punishable by a minimum fine of $100 and a maximum fine of $200.

  • How do I become a patient?

– For more info on obtaining your medical card: READ OUR BLOG ARTICLE HERE
– For help booking an appointment, we recommend the friendly staff at: INNOVATIVE EXPRESS

Registered Caregivers

  • Caregivers

Patients may select a designated caregiver to assist with the patient’s use of medical cannabis.  Patients under the age of 18 may have two designated caregivers, if both are parents or legal guardians with significant decision-making responsibility for the patient.  Designated caregivers must be 21 years of age or older and must apply for a Registry ID Card online through the state’s online application portal or by completing and submitting a printed application available online.  The application process and requirements for designated caregivers are consistent with those for patients.  Registry ID Cards for designated caregivers are valid for 3 years and cost $75 if applied for at the same time as the patient and $100 if applied for separately.

A patient’s designated caregiver may purchase and possess up to 2.5 ounces of medical cannabis from a state-licensed dispensaries.  A patient and his or her designated caregiver are prohibited from purchasing (collectively) more than 2.5 ounces of medical cannabis during any two week period.



Only the 20 existing licensed medical marijuana cultivation facilities will be licensed to grow it initially. Next year, craft growers may apply for licenses to cultivate up to 5,000 square feet, with preference given to applicants from minority areas disproportionately affected by the war on drugs, such as the South and West sides of Chicago. Medical marijuana dispensaries and new retail stores will be licensed to sell it.


Illinois residents age 21 and over may possess up to 30 grams or about 1 ounce of flower (roughly as much as an adult can hold in cupped hands), 5 grams of cannabis concentrate, or 500 milligrams of THC — the chemical that gets users high — in a cannabis-infused product such as gummies and other candy, tinctures and lotions. Adult visitors to the state may possess up to 15 grams of marijuana.


Municipalities and counties may ban cannabis businesses within their boundaries, but may not ban individual possession. Any person, business or landlord may prohibit use on private property. Colleges and universities may continue to prohibit cannabis use.

Learn To Grow Medicinal – All rights reserved 2019.